When you post a BeReal, you’ll see with it the location where you took the photo. You can also see the exact location your friends took their BeReals on a map. If you don’t want your location shared on your posts, it’s easy to turn it off in a few steps.
Disable Location Sharing on BeReal
Your BeReal will then simply display the time the photo was taken without the location.
Is BeReal using my location data?
BeReal states in its terms that the company does not sell user data or track its users in real time.
If you still want to protect your privacy, you should turn off location sharing on your posts, even if it’s just for peace of mind. For added privacy, also confirm that the Friends icon to the left of the Location icon is set to Only my friends. This confirms that only people you’ve added as friends can see your BeReal.
How is my location used on BeReal?
Your friends will be able to see the location of your BeReal, if you have it turned on, at the top of your posts next to the time you posted. Depending on your location, it may display the city or neighborhood you’re in.
By tapping the three dots next to someone’s location on top of their BeReal, a map displaying the exact location the BeReal is taken can also be viewed. This is just for sharing with friends. If you have a lot of people connected on BeReal, you may want to turn off Location so strangers can’t see this feature.
Stay safe on BeReal
You can keep yourself and your friends safe on social media by turning off location sharing on BeReal. You can turn your location back on at any time, so it’s always a great tool to have if you want some extra privacy and security online.
Always remember not to provide personal or sensitive information on social media including BeReal.
Does the BeReal app crash every time you get a notification to take your BeReal photo? Are you unable to post your BeReal on time? This problem has been common for the users of the app.
Here’s why BeReal keeps crashing and what you can do to troubleshoot the issue.
Why does your BeReal app keep crashing
The main problem with the way BeReal works is that each user is made to use the app at the same time. Have you ever been on a website at a time where many people were trying to visit the same site only to have it crash? It’s the same concept, except it happens every day on BeReal.
BeReal has gained immense popularity due to its users focusing on posting authentically without filters or Facetune. Once per day at a random time, the app sends a notification to all users (per region) that it’s time to BeReal, meaning they have two minutes to post their daily dual camera photos.
People love the virtual reality that the platform offers, and its popularity has grown as quickly as it has. As an active user, you may notice crashes or glitches.
Not every user is using BeReal at the same time, but most people are trying to post within those two precious minutes, and the app only serves the user base by region. This means that almost every user in the United States, for example, is launching the app in the same two minutes.
The app can’t handle that much traffic at once, and it crashes on you, forcing you back to your home screen. You may also notice that after tapping the notification, the app opens but doesn’t prompt you to post, causing you to miss the time window and post late. This can be frustrating, especially when you were all set to post on time.
How to troubleshoot BeReal problems
The most common way to solve this problem is to completely restart the BeReal app. You may need to try it a few times before it works. If the app crashes, swipe up on your Home screen, swipe up on the BeReal window to get rid of it, then tap anywhere to return to the Home screen.
Then just launch the app again and repeat the process. If the app isn’t asking you to post during the BeReal two minutes, just exit the app and use the same process.
Another helpful option is to log out of the app and log back in. Do this by clicking on your profile icon in the top right corner of the app, then tap the icon with the three dots in the top right corner. Scroll down and tap on Log Out. Then, you can log back in using the prompts.
A last resort option is to clear the app’s cache. On an iPhone, you can do this by completely deleting the app from your phone, restarting your phone, then going to the App Store and downloading it again. This will clear any faulty data.
On Android, go to the app’s Settings and clear the cache. You can also try reinstalling or updating the app.